# MINUTES State Geographic Information Council Meeting

The State Geographic Information Council met Friday, May 6, 2016 at the Oklahoma Board of Regents Conference Room in Oklahoma City, OK. Mike Sharp called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. The agenda for the meeting was sent out to the GI Community through the OK GIS List serve as well as the OK GI Council Contact Database. The OK GIS List Serve currently includes approximately 600 GIS professionals while the OK GIS Council Contact Database includes approximately 250 contacts. The agenda was also posted on the OK GI Council website, <u>www.okmaps.onenet.net</u> The agenda for this meeting was posted at the front entrance of the meeting room as well as the front entrance to the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry building being in compliance with the Open Meeting Law, Title 25 O.S. Sections 301-314. Following the pledge of allegiance, the Council members introduced themselves along with those in the audience. It was determined that a quorum was present.

## MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mike Sharp, OK Conservation Commission Kathy Hines, Center for Spatial Analysis Tracy Scopel, OK Water Resources Board Kellie Lewelling, OK Corporation Commission David Wheelock, OK Dept of Agriculture Keith Waan, OK Dept of Wildlife Conservation

## MEMBERS ABSENT:

Regional Universities of Oklahoma Association of Regional Councils OK Dept of Commerce

#### **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Nathan Smith, ODOT Shellie Willoughby, OGI Ron McWhirter, OTRD Don Shafer, Tourism Ray Bottger, ODMHSAS Amy Brittian, DEQ

Mike Davis, ACOG\* Mike Sexton, OK Dept of Commerce \* Michael Larson, OK State University Jeremy Planteen, ODOT Matthew Wormus, OKDEQ Charles Brady III, City of Ardmore Russell Standridge, OK Geological Survey Kim Carter, OK Dept of Homeland Security

OMES OK County Assessors OK Tax Commission

Sam Coldiron, ODOT Greg Hakman, CEC Chris Rogers, DPS Lauren Wood, OSU Tricia Hines, OK House Kyle Gregory, DEQ

Genaro Garcia, City of Oklahoma City\* Dan Hough, OK Biological Survey \*

\*: Indicates participation through the web option

## 4. Approval of April Meeting Minutes

Charles Brady III made a motion to approve the minutes. Kathy Hines seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## 5. Committee Reports

- Data Sharing Workgroup: The workgroup met in May and is working on various projects. Amy updated the Council members on the work being done by the workgroup. The workgroup will meet again in September. If there are any projects that people would like the workgroup to work on or if you would like to be involved in the group please email Amy Brittain.
- Addressing Standards Workgroup: No report given.
- Framework Data Layer Workgroup: No report given
- Landcover Dataset Workgroup: No report given.
- Hydrography Data Standards Workgroup: No report given.

- 6. <u>Recognition of the OKDEQ GIS Subcommittee for winning the South Central Arc Users Group</u> (SCAUG) Founders Award during the 2016 Regional SCAUG Conference on April 20 in Corpus Christi, TX.
  - Shellie Willoughby, representing SCAUG, presented the SCAUG Founders Award to Matthew Wormus, OKDEQ
- 7. <u>Recognition of the Office of Geographic Information for winning the Mid-America GIS</u> <u>Consortium's GIS Innovation Award for the OKMAPS Project which was presented at the 2016</u> <u>MAGIC Symposium on April 26 in Overland Park, KS.</u>
  - Charles Brady III, representing MAGIC, presented the MAGIC GIS Innovation Award to Mike Sharp, Office of Geographic Information.

## 8. Presentation:

# **Oklahoma Earthquakes: Evolving Patterns and Underlying Causes**

Jeremy Boak, OK Geological Survey

- 9. Open GIS Discussion / Data Issues
  - None

## 8. <u>New Business</u>

None

## 9. Announcements

- SCAUG events: <u>www.scaug.org</u>
- Chris Rogers, DPS, inquired about any GIS professionals from Oklahoma attending the ESRI UC in San Diego. He would like to organize a Meetup for anyone who will be going.

## 10. Next Council Meeting

• The next meeting will be held June 3, 2016 at 10:30 a.m.

# 10. Adjourn

• The motion was made to adjourn by David Wheelock and seconded by Kathy Hines. The meeting adjourned at 11:45 am